Information on Temporary Licenses
The Oklahoma Insurance Department contracts with a national vendor who has temporarily closed all testing centers nationwide due to the COVID-19 public health emergency. Currently, a new resident producer and new resident adjuster license is not available if you haven’t passed the testing examination. The Oklahoma Insurance Department is working toward a remote option for license examinations. Until a remote option is available, applicants may apply for the Temporary Producer License or Apprentice Adjuster License. Each application requires a licensed sponsor, and both temporary licenses are in effect until 30 days after the Governor’s Executive Order 2020-07 expires.
Application Process for Temporary License
- Apply for your Oklahoma temporary license
The Temporary Applications may be accessed below. Either application must be printed, completed, and mailed in with your check or money order for a $20.00 temporary license fee to Oklahoma Insurance Department, 400 N.E. 50th Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73105. Please include the applicants last name on the memo portion of your check or money order. Fees are nonrefundable. Submissions of bulk request by Insurance Companies will take longer to process then individual submissions.
- OID will review your application
Submitting an application does not mean that a license was approved or issued. You will be notified (by the contact email address entered on the application) when the application is approved or if the OID needs additional information.
- OID will notify you when the temporary license issued will expire
As a courtesy, the OID will email you at the email address entered on the application to remind you that the temporary license will be expiring. Additional notices relating to the temporary license will be posted on the OID website and emailed to you as the current public health emergency is a fluid situation. Instructions for your resident or nonresident license, following this event, are found below.
New Application Process (Passed Examination)
(Paper applications are not accepted)
Title 36 O.S. § 1435.23 (B) – No Refunds
Federal and state law prohibits any individual convicted of a felony of dishonesty or breach of trust from engaging in the business of insurance.
18 U. S. C. § 1033 and 1 034; 36 O.S. § 402.
If you have been convicted of such crimes please return to www.licensing.oid.ok.gov and submit the 1033 Waiver application, under Online application, prior to continuing. You can only continue with the license application once a waiver has been granted.
The Oklahoma Insurance Department (OID) welcomes qualified candidates to apply for licensure in our state. Please read and follow the instructions below in order to successfully complete the application process.
Steps 1 & 2 apply to RESIDENT (R) applicants only. NON-RESIDENT (NR) applicants may skip to step 3:
Prepare to exam
Download and read the Licensing Information Booklet (LIB) by clicking here.
You may prepare to take the licensing exam by any means appropriate for you:
Self Study: Kaplan study manuals may be ordered from our office. The same study manual is used for both producers and adjusters. Prometric provides a Licensing Information Bulletin (LIB) which provides detailed information regarding the exam process as well as a subject outline. The LIB may be downloaded by clicking here.
Pre-Licensing Education: Several companies offer pre-licensing exam classes (including study materials) which may help prepare the applicant for the exam. You may contact the providers for additional information. Pre-license Exam Providers
Schedule your exam by clicking the following link:
Apply for your Oklahoma license
Oklahoma requires insurance professionals to hold an active license prior to working in the industry. Passing the exam(s) is the first step to becoming licensed. You may not work until you have submitted an online application and the license has been issued. If an exam was required, allow 3 business days for the Exam Provider to provide the exam results to this department and the National Database electronically, prior to applying.
Start the application process by clicking on the appropriate license-type link above. You will be transferred to the NIPR system. READ THE DISCLAIMER and click Accept at the bottom of the User Agreement page to start. You may now begin entering the application information. *Print and retain a copy of the application for your records and to serve as a receipt.
OID will review your application
Submitting an application does not mean that a license was approved or issued. You will be notified (by the contact email address entered on the application) when the application is approved or if the OID needs additional information. You may check the status of a license online at our web page using the Licensee Lookup tool.
Special Instructions for a Non-Resident Adjuster without a resident state license
A Non-Resident Adjuster without a resident state license may apply online and designate a home state (the state in which they passed the adjuster exam and have an active license).
Follow the instructions above; however, enter the applicants Last Name and SSN only on the applicant sign in page. The applicant will be prompted to select the state in which they want to apply (Oklahoma) and then to designate a home state.
Print your new license
After the license has been issued, you may view and print your license online at our web page using the Licensee Lookup tool.
You may contact the licensing and education division directly at:
Phone (405)521-3916 or 1-800-522-0071