Appraiser Qualification Criteria:
We now offer online licensing at Open Regulate. After creating an account, you can complete the application process online. This will allow you to track the application process, receive updates via messaging, and receive and print your own license.
Alternatively, you may print and mail to the Oklahoma Real Estate Appraiser Board with a check.
- REA-01 Application
- REA-06 Application Instructions
- REA-07 Experience Log
- REA-08 Supervisory Relationship Report
- REA-09 AQB Criteria
- Finger Printing Locations
- TRA-Supervisor Handout
- FBI Privacy Act-Applicant Notification Record Challenge
SLA, CRA, CGA and Upgrade Application
CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS: All appraisers, including Trainee appraisers, are required to complete 42 hours of continuing education every three years. The cycle coincides with the date in which your paper license is valid.
Each appraiser is responsible for submission of their course completion certificates. Do not rely on your education provider to do so. You may email your course completion certificates to email@example.com; fax to (405) 522-6909 or mail your certificate to the Real Estate Appraiser Board, 400 NE 50th Street, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105.
7-HOUR USPAP UPDATE: Each appraiser is required to take the 7-Hour USPAP update on a two-year cycle. In Oklahoma it is an odd-year, even year, cycle. This requirement is unrelated to your three-year continuing education requirement, although you will receive continuing education credit for the USPAP update course and it will count towards your 42-hour total.
The current cycle is January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2022 and relates to the 2022-2023 USPAP. The Appraisal Foundation has announced that it will not be issuing a new version of USPAP this year. A new class will likely be required, however, but has not yet been released.
Regardless of when you last took the 7-Hour USPAP Update, you must complete the current version no later than December 31, 2022. Education providers will not turn in your course completion certificate for you. Please turn in your course completion certificate no later than December 31, 2022.
- You MUST submit proof of completion, in the form of a course completion certificate, no later than close of business on December 31, 2022.
- If you do not take the course by the deadline, or if you take the course and do not submit your certificate, you risk being fined or suspended.
- Do not rely on the education provider to submit your certificate. It is the appraiser’s responsibility to submit the course completion certificate for this course.
The schedule of currently offered, live, USPAP update courses can be found on the Course Announcements tab.
PLEASE TAKE NOTE: Oklahoma issues licenses for a three-year period. However, licensing and registry fees are collected on an annual basis. Notices are emailed from Open Regulate at least six weeks prior to the due date. Failure to remit these fees, or in the alternative, surrender your license, will result in disciplinary action against your credential and will be reported to the National Registry.
The course numbering system is as follows:
600-level courses are approved for qualifying education. All qualifying education courses serve “double duty” as you will also receive continuing education credit for the course so long as it has been successfully completed.
700-level courses are approved for in-class continuing education.
900-level courses are approved for on-line or distance continuing education.
The 15-hour National USPAP will be course number 600.
The in-class 7-hour National USPAP Update will be course number 700.
The on-line 7-hour National USPAP Update will be course number 900.
If you have questions about a course’s approval, you should contact the Board.