BEFORE THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER OF THE
STATE OF OKLAHOMA

STATE OF OKLAHOMA, ex rel. GLEN

MULREADY, Insurance Commissioner, 4,09 09 ¢
Petitioner, %MM
18,
V. Case No. 19-0229-DEN L

RYAN SCOTT SMITH, an applicant for a
renewal resident insurance producer license,

Respondent.

CONDITIONAL ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER
AND NOTICE OF RIGHT TO BE HEARD

COMES NOW the State of Oklahoma, ex rel. Glen Mulready, Insurance Commissioner,
by and through his counsel, Teresa L. Green, and alleges and states as follows:

JURISDICTION

1. Glen Mulready is the Insurance Commissioner of the State of Oklahoma and is
charged with the duty of administering and enforcing all provisions of the Oklahoma Insurance
Code, 36 O.5. §§ 101 et seq., including the Oklahoma Producer Licensing Act, 36 O.5. §§
1435.1 et seq. |

2 Respondent Ryan Scott Smith (“Respondent”) is an applicant for a renewal
resident insurance producer license in the State of Oklahoma. Respondent was previously
licensed, number 100218862, which expired on March 31, 2019, after his application was
submitted. Respondent’s mailing address of record is 1206 N. Meadow Dr., Ardmore, OK
73401.

3. The Insurance Commissioner may place on probation, censure, suspend, revoke

or refuse to issue or renew a license issued pursuant to the Oklahoma Producer Licensing Act



and/or may levy a fine not less than $100.00 nor more than $1,000.00 for each occurrence of a
_ violation of the Oklahoma Insurance Code. 36 O.S. § 1435.13(4) and (D).

FINDINGS OF FACT

4. Respondent applied to renew his resident insurance producer license on or about
March 17, 2019, with the Oklahoma Insurance Department (“OID”).

3. On the application form, question 1A asks the following: “Have you ever been
convicted of a misdemeanor, had a judgment withheld or deferred, or are you currently charged
with committing a misdemeanor, which has not been previously reported to the insurance
department? You may exclude the following misdemeanor convictions or pending misdemeanor
charges: traffic citations, driving under the influence (DUTI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI),
driving without a license, reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked license.”
Respondent answered “No” to this question.

6. - On the application form, question 1B asks the following: “Have you ever been
convicted of a felony, had a judgment withheld or deferred, or are you currently charged with
committing a felony, which has not been previously reported to this insurance department?”
Respondent answered “No” to this question.

1. An Oklahoma Supreme Court Network (“OSCN”) background check by the OID
Licensing Division showed that Respondent has been charged with (i) a one (1) year deferred
sentence for a misdemeanor count of driving while under the influence of drugs in The State of
Oklahoma v. Ryan Scott Smith, Case Number CM-2017-71, (ii) a five (5) year deferred sentence
for a felony count of driving a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol in The State of
Olklahoma v. Ryan Scott Smith, Case Number CF-2017-370, (iii) a one (1) year deferred sentence

for a misdemeanor count of unlawful possession of drug paraphernalia in The State of Oklahoma



v. Ryan Scott Smith, Case Number CM-2017-549, and (iv) a one (1) year deferred sentence for a
misdemeanor count of transporting an open container — alcohol in The State of Oklahoma v.
Ryan Scott Smith, Case Number CM-2017-549.

8. Further, Respondent did not report any of the above charges to the OID within
thirty (30) days of the initial pretrial hearing date nor provided a copy of the initial complaint
filed and the order resulting from the hearing until requested by OID as part of Respondent’s
renewal application.

9. As of this date, Respondent has yet to submit a letter of explanation as to why the
unlawful possession of drug paraphernalia and transporting an open container convictions were
not disclosed.

10.  As of'this date, Respondent has yet to submit a letter of explanation describing the
situation relating to the unlawful possession of drug paraphernalia and transporting an open
container convictions.

11.  Pursuant to 36 O.S. § 1435.18(B), a producer shall report to the Insurance
Commissioner any criminal prosecution of the producer taken in any jurisdiction within thirty
(30) days, including a copy of the initial complaint filed, the order resulting from the hearing and
any other relevant documents. |

12.  The Insurance Commissioner may impose a civil fine for violating any insurance
laws, or violating any regulation, subpoena or order of the Insurance Commissioner or of another
state’s Insurance Commissioner. See 36 O.S. § 1435.13(A)(2) and (D).

13.  The Insurance Commissioner may impose a civil fine when an applicant provides
incorrect, misleading, incomplete or materially untrue information in the license application. See

36 0.8, §§ 1435.13(4)(1) and (D).



CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

14.  Respondent violated 36 O.S. § 1435.13(4)(1) for providing incorrect, misleading,
incomplete or materially untrue information in the license application by not disclosing the three
(3) deferred misdemeanors and one (1) deferred felony.

15.  Respondent violated 36 O.S. § 1435.13(4)(2) and 1435.18(B) for violating any
insurance law by not reporting as a producer to the Insurance Commissioner the three (3)
deferred misdemeanors and one (1) deferred felony convictions.

ORDER

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED by the Insurance Commissioner that Respondent is
hereby fined FIVE HUNDRED DOLLARS ($500.00) for violation of 36 O.S. §§
1435.13(A)(1), 1435.13(A)(2), and 1435.18(B). The $500.00 fine is to be paid within thirty
(30) days made payable to the Oklahoma Insurance Department. The $500.00 civil fine shall be
paid by money order or cashier’s check. Respondent’s application for a resident insurance
producer license may be granted upon receipt of payment of the fine and reporting of the
administrative action. Failure to pay the civil fine or request a hearing within thirty (30) days
will result in your license application being withdrawn.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED by the Insurance
Commissioner that this Order is a Conditional Order. Unless the Respondent requests a hearing
with respect to the Findings of Fact set fortﬁ above within thirty (30) days of the date of mailing
of this Order, this Order and the penalties set forth above will become a Final Order on the
tlﬁrty—ﬁrst (31%) day following the date of mailing this Order. A request for hearing should be in
writing addressed to Teresa L. Green, Oklahoma Insurance Department, Legal Division, 3625

NW 56" St., Suite 100, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73112. The request for hearing must state the



grounds for the request to set aside or modify the Order.

Any such hearing will be conducted according to the procedures for contested cases
under the Insurance Code and 75 O.S. § 250-323. If the Respondent serves a timely request for
hearing on the Oklahoma Insurance Department, this Conditional Order will act as notice of the
matters to be reviewed at the hearing, and the Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and
penalties imposed in this Conditional Order will be considered withdrawn, pending final
resolution at‘ the hearing.

WITNESS My Hand and Official Seal this _@H'{_?day of April, 2019.
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GLEN MULREADY
INSURANEZE COMMISSIONER
STATE OF PKLA A

Teresa L. reen, OBf( 32897 —~—
ssistant/General Cqupsel
0) ma Insurance Department

3625 NW 56" Street, Suite 100
Oklahoma City, OK 73112
Telephone: (405) 521-2746
Facsimile: (405) 522-0125




CERTIFICATE OF MAILING

I, Teresa L. Green, hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the above and foregoing
Conditional Administrative Order and Notice of Right to be Heard was mailed by certified mail,
with postage prepaid and return receipt requested, on this G "‘ day of April, 2019 to:

Ryan Scott Smith

1206 N. Meadow Dr.
Ardmore, OK 73401

CERTIFIED MAIL NO. 9214 8902 0982 7500 0194 44

and a copy was delivered to:

Licensing Division

eresa’l/ Green
Assistajft General Cgunsel







