

Oklahoma City, OK 73105

oklahoma City, OK 73105
oli, ok.gov

405.522.2828

400 NE 50th Street

THIRD-PARTY ADMINISTRATORS (TPA) NEW LICENSE APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

Effective November 1, 2014, the Oklahoma Insurance Department (OID) will require Third-Party Administrators (TPA) to file all new applications electronically per Title 36 O.S. Section 350, Title 36 O.S. Section 1450, and Order No. 14-0995-PRJ.

PAPER FILINGS AND CHECKS WILL NO LONGER BE ACCEPTED.

OPTins Electronic filing instructions:

- Register and/or Login with OPTins at http://www.optins.org/regulated_entities_OK.htm or by calling 816-783-8500. NOTE: Register and/or Login with OPTins at http://www.optins.org/regulated_entities_OK.htm or by calling 816-783-8500. NOTE: Register and/or Login with OPTins at http://www.optins.org/regulated_entities_OK.htm or by calling 816-783-8500. NOTE: Registration can take several weeks to complete.
- Once registered, select the "Filings" tab, then "Create Filing," enter the filing year, select "Oklahoma Regulated Entities" as the state, and choose "Third Party Administrator and Firm ("Individual" when the individuals are organized as a Partnership), then Initial application.
- Open the application which is in an Excel file format, review, complete the Checklist and Application (see the tabs at the bottom of the Excel table), save the file in the most recent version of Excel, and then upload it back into OPTins at the same location.
- Proceed to the payment screen to submit your payment (\$100 Application Fee + \$10 Service of Process Fee = \$110 total Note: OPTins will add in their \$10 processing fee automatically, however they will not charge a fee again if you have to go back later to amend the application. The application will not populate the OID side of OPTins until the money has processed through your bank and the filing will be dated at the time the fee processes through your bank, so you will want to watch this to assure the payment has gone through your account.

The following items are required for the Electronic TPA New Application filing:

- Completed Online New Corporate Application
- National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) Biographical Affidavits- required for officers, directors, key
 management and any person acquiring ten percent (10%) or more controlling interest in any TPA. Per TITLE 36 0.S. § 1450 (C)
 and TITLE 36 0.S. § 615.2. The Affidavits can be obtained from the NAIC website at:
 https://naic.org/documents/industry_ucaa_form11.pdf?16
 UCAA Form 11.
- Third-Party Vendors for Background Reports (in addition to the NAIC Biographical Affidavits) TITLE 36 0.S. § 615.2 requires The Biographical Affidavit to be certified by an independent third party. The statute defines "independent third party" as "...one that has no affiliation with the applicant and is in the business of providing background checks or investigations".
 ** "The Business Character Report must be current and shall not be older than one (1) year." ** Link for approved Third-Party Vendors: http://www.naic.org/documents/industry_ucaa_third_party.pdf
- One Bond in an amount not less than Ten Thousand Dollars (\$10,000) made payable to the People of Oklahoma The bond form is available in OPTins and our website. Please see 0.A.C. 365:25-3-12(f) for the rules on bond amounts. Link to Rule: https://www.oid.ok.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/18-11-07-C25S3.pdf (scroll down in the body of the document to find rule 365:25-3-12, subsection f.)
- Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws or Articles of Organization and Operating Agreement
- Certificate of Authority from the Oklahoma State Secretary (<u>www.sos.ok.gov</u>, Business Services). Demonstrating the Entity has filed and has been approved by the Oklahoma Secretary of State to operate in Oklahoma.
- Proof of Third Party Licensure in Home State. If home state does not license TPAs please designate another state that has adopted the Third-party Administrator Act or a substantially similar law governing third-party administrators and please provide proof the TPA is licensed in that state. Please see TITLE 36 0.S. § 1450(B) for home state requirements.
- Fees: Each license requires a \$100 fee. (\$100 for the individual application and \$100 for the corporate application) <u>NOTE: There</u> is an electronic processing fee assessed by OPTins after the filing has been completely submitted.

All questions regarding OPTins will need to be directed to OPTins at 816-783-8500 or optinshelp@naic.org.

All other questions will continue to be directed to the Oklahoma Insurance Department, Regulated Industry Services Division (RIS), <u>jeanette.pearce@oid.ok.gov</u> or 405-521-6651.

<u>www.oid.ok.gov</u> ~ INDUSTRY/REGULATIONS ~ Regulated Industry Services New Address: 400 NE 50th St., Oklahoma City, OK 73105