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HB 1074 – Right to Try 
New Law – 63 O.S. § § 3091.1-3091.7 
 

• Allows a terminally ill patient who has exhausted all other 
treatments approved by the FDA, opt for investigational 
treatments.   

 

• Specifies that this is optional for all parties and not an mandate  
 

• Gives legal protection to the manufacturer for any harm should the 
investigational treatment fail. 
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Effective November 1, 2015 



HB 1515 – Proton Therapy 
New Law – 36 O.S. § 6060.9b 
 

• Prohibits health benefit plans that cover cancer therapy from 
holding proton radiation therapy to a higher standard of 
clinical evidence than it would any other radiation therapy 
treatment.   
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Effective November 1, 2015 



HB 1566 – Coordinated Care 

New Law – 63 O.S. § 5028 

• States that the Oklahoma Health Care Authority shall initiate requests for 
proposals for care coordination models for aged, blind, and disabled 
persons.   

 

• Allows for 2 year phase in of care coordination models for members 
receiving institutional care after the initial enrollment period of a care 
program.   

 

• Allows the Oklahoma Health Care Authority Board to promulgate rules.  
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Effective November 1, 2015 



HB 1628 – Oklahoma Health Care Authority 

Prior Authorization – 63 O.S. § 5030.5 
 
• The Oklahoma Health Care Authority shall provide coverage for a drug if 

it does not fall in a class that is already placed under prior authorization 
with the US Food and Drug Administration.   

 

• The Drug Utilization Review Board must review the drug within 100 
days after being approved by the US Food and Drug Administration to 
determine whether or not to continue the prior authorization criteria.   
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Effective August 20, 2015 



HB 1965 – Texting While Driving 
New Law – 47 O.S. § 11-901d 
 
• Any person found guilty of operating a vehicle while using a hand-held 

electronic communication device to manually compose, send, or read a 
text message while the vehicle is in motion shall be fined up to $100.   

• No points shall be removed off of a license for this offense. 

• Emergency communication is exempt. 

• Primary traffic offense.  
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Effective November 1, 2015 



HB 2217 – Reimbursement After Credentialing 
 
Credentialing – 36 O.S. § 4405.1(F) 
 

• Within thirty-one (31) days after a provider has been 
credentialed by a health benefit plan following the 
completion of the credentialing or recredentialing process, 
the health benefit plan shall consider the provider in-network 
for purposes of reimbursement.  

 

 

 

  

7 
Effective November 1, 2015 



SB 560 – Health Care Empowerment Act 

New Law – 36 O.S. §§ 4604 & 4605 
 

• Allows consumers to enter into a direct primary care membership 
program without losing insurance benefits; including Medicare & 
Medicaid. 

 

• Defines Direct Primary Care Memberships; specifies that they are not 
insurance products, not medical discount plans, not required to obtain a 
certification of authority, and not regulated by the OID 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 
Effective April 21, 2015 



SB236 – Navigators 
Navigators – 36 O.S. §§ 1415.2 & 1415.3 
 
• Allows the Insurance Commissioner to perform an on-site inspection of 

operations and records. 
 

• Specifies that reports requested by the commissioner shall omit 
personally identifiable information from the individuals that they assist.   

 

• Defines “personally identifiable information” 
 

• Clarifies that the registered navigator or navigator entity shall, upon 
request of the Commissioner, verify the name, contact information, and 
date of contact for the individuals that they assist.   
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Effective November 1, 2015 



HB1614 – Transportation Network Companies 

New Law – 47 O.S. §§ 1010-1030 
 
• Sets out the requirements for Transportation Network Companies 

operating in Oklahoma.  
 

• Starting July 1, 2015, all TNC drivers, or the TNC on the driver’s behalf, 
must meet certain insurance requirements.  

 

• While the driver is logged onto the TNC’s digital network and available 
to receive ride requests, the driver must be covered by a primary auto 
liability insurance policy of $50,000 for death and bodily injury per 
person, $100,000 for death and bodily injury per incident, and $25,000 for 
property damage, plus UM coverage.  
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Effective July 1, 2015 



HB1614 – Transportation Network Companies 

New Law – 47 O.S. §§ 1010-1030 
 
• While the driver is engaged in a prearranged ride (driver has accepted a 

fare and is en route to pick up passenger until the last passenger exits the 
vehicle), must be covered by liability insurance policy of at least 
$1,000,000 for death, bodily injury, and property damage, plus UM 
coverage.  

 

• Insurance can be obtained by the TNC, the TNC driver, or a combination 
of the two.  

 

• Coverage under the TNC policy shall not be dependent on the driver’s 
personal insurance carrier first denying the claim. 
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Effective July1, 2015 



HB1614 – Transportation Network Companies 

New Law – 47 O.S. §§ 1010-1030 
 
• Insurers writing auto coverage in Oklahoma may exclude coverage under 

the owner’s personal policy for any loss or injury that occurs while a TNC 
driver is logged into the TNC’s digital network or while a driver is 
engaged in a prearranged ride. And the personal auto carrier has no duty 
to defend or indemnify any claim excluded under the policy.  
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Effective July 1, 2015 



SB443 – Title Insurance 
New Law – 36 O.S. § 5008 
 
• If a mortgagor fails to receive a mortgage release from their mortgagee 

within 60 days after the mortgage is paid off, an officer of the title 
insurance company, on behalf of the mortgagor, may file an affidavit 
stating that the mortgage has been paid off. Subject to certain 
requirements.  
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Effective November 1, 2015 



SB101 – Bail 
• A person who owns a restaurant where alcohol is sold incidental to the 

sale of food may hold a license as a bail bondsman.  

• Exception to 59 O.S. § 1315(A)(8),(9),(10), and (11) 

• “Incidental to the sale of food”  alcohol is not more than 50% of the 
monthly gross sales of the restaurant.  

• The bondsman may not perform bail bondsman duties or have a 
bondsman office on the premises of the restaurant. 

• DOES NOT APPLY TO BAIL ENFORCERS 
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Effective November 1, 2015 



SB586 – Bail 
• Current law  if a bond forfeits, the bondsman may: 

– Apprehend the defendant personally, or 

– Hire a licensed bail enforcer, or 

– Get help from another bondsman, provided he or she has been 
continuously licensed for at least 5 years prior to July 1, 2014.  

 

59 O.S. § 1332(C)(2) – New law 

• A bondsman may aid another bondsman in apprehending a 
defendant if both bondsmen are appointed with the same insurer 
(company, professional, or MCA).  
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Effective November 1, 2015 
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SB487 – Flood Insurance 
Surplus Lines – 36 O.S. §§ 1102, 1106.2, & 1115 
 

• The NFIP is a broken system that is not being fixed.  This is a state-based 
attempt to provide competition to the federal program by encouraging 
the writing of flood insurance in the private surplus lines market.  
 

• Provides a Surplus Line Premium Tax exemption for flood insurance 
policies covering Oklahoma properties.  
 

• Allows a flood insurance policy to be placed with a surplus lines carrier 
without a due diligence search.   
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     Effective November 1, 2015 



SB455 – Title 36 Omnibus 
 
• Deletes requirement for companies to send copies of adopted 

examination report to all other states because OID already sends the 
reports out through FEETS (Financial Exam Electronic Tracking System) 
operated by the NAIC. 36 O.S. § 309.4 

   

• Clarifies the Commissioner’s authority over entities regulated outside 
Title 36. 36 O.S. § 312A                  

– Ex: bail bondsmen are regulated by the Commissioner under Title 59.   
 

• Deletes requirement that insurers provide certification of creditable 
coverage to individuals whose group health insurance has terminated. 
The requirement is no longer necessary because of new federal law.        
36 O.S. § 4502   

 

  

 

18 
Effective November 1, 2015 



SB455 – Title 36 Omnibus 
 

• Expands the methods in which an insurer may make a claims payment to 
an insured to include electronic funds transfers and prepaid cards.          
36 O.S. § 6041 

• Clarifies the Commissioner’s authority over entities regulated outside 
Title 36. 36 O.S. § 6103.3 

– Example: bail bondsmen are regulated by the Commissioner under Title 59.   

• Gives the Commissioner discretion regarding the filing of closed claims 
annual reports by medical professional liability insurers. 36 O.S. § 6811(a) 
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Effective November 1, 2015 



SB455 – Title 36 Omnibus 
Oklahoma Captive Insurance Company Act Updates  

 36 O.S. §§ 6470.1-6470.34 

• Conforms the definition of Workers' Compensation to the rest of the Act.    

• Adds definition of "Unimpaired Paid-in Capital" for investment 

purposes. 

• Makes it easier for the Commissioner to waive a public hearing for a 

captive insurance company.   

• Cleans up an issue of how Captives in other states re-domesticate in 

Oklahoma. 

• Cleans up language regarding capital investments of various kinds of 

Captives. 
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Effective November 1, 2015 



SB455 – Title 36 Omnibus 
Oklahoma Captive Insurance Company Act Updates  

 36 O.S. §§ 6470.1-6470.34 
 
• Cleans up language regarding taking credit for reserves when ceding risk 

to reinsurers.  
  
• Clears up language about how two or more captives with the same 

ownership are taxed.   
 

• Defines sponsored captive parent. 
 

• Allows individual protected cells of sponsored captives to enter into 
contracts with outside investors and protects the parent sponsors and 
other captive cells.  
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Effective November 1, 2015 



SB439 – Adjusters 
All Adjusters 
 
• Nonresident adjuster applicants may have passed an examination in a 

state other than their home state (36 O.S. § 6205(B)(1)). 

• Emergency declarations by the Commissioner may be on a county-by-
county basis (§ 6218(A)). 

• Emergency adjuster licenses are valid for only 90 days after the 
emergency declaration (not 90 days after the license is issued) (§ 6218(A)). 

• An adjuster may not have an interest in the entity providing construction 
services on the claim unless in a town of less than 6,000 residents.            
(§ 6220.1(C) – previously also exempted claims in the adjuster’s county) 

• Acting as an adjuster without a license is now a misdemeanor (§ 6220(F)) 
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Effective November 1, 2015 



SB439 – Adjusters 
All Adjusters . . . Continued 
 
• Additional causes for action against an adjuster’s license (§ 6220(A)): 

– Failing to respond to an inquiry from the OID within 30 days, 

– Forging another’s name to a document, 

– Obtaining or attempting to obtain a license through misrepresentation or fraud, 

– Committing an unfair trade practice or insurance fraud, 

– Having action taken against an adjuster license in another jurisdiction, 

– Failing to inform OID of a change of address, legal name, or information submitted on 

the application within 30 days of the change,  

– Providing services as a company adjuster, independent adjuster, or public adjuster on 

the same claim.  
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Effective November 1, 2015 



SB439 – Adjusters 
Public Adjusters 
 
• Surety bond requirement up to $25,000 from $10,000 (§ 6214(A)). 

• An insured may cancel a contract with a PA up to 3 business days after he 
or she receives the signed agreement from the PA (§ 6216.2(A)). 

• Anything of value given to the PA under the contract must be returned 
within 15 business days following receipt of the cancellation notice by the 
PA (§ 6216.2(B)).  

• Every PA contract must be in writing and contain (§ 6216.2(D)): 

– Legible full name of the PA, 

– Permanent home state business address and phone number, 

– OID license number, . . .  
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Effective November 1, 2015 



SB439 – Adjusters 
Public Adjusters . . . Continued 
 

– Title of “Public Adjuster Contract”, 

– Insured’s full name, street address, and insurance company name and policy #,  

– Description of the loss and its location, 

– Description of services to be provided to the insured, 

– Signatures of the PA and the insured, 

– Date the contract was signed by the PA and the insured, 

– Full compensation description according to the following guidelines: 

• If based on a share of the settlement, the exact % 

• Initial expenses to be reimbursed to the PA from the claim proceeds shall be specified by type, 

with dollar estimates and with any additional expenses first approved by the insured, . . .  

 

 

25 
Effective November 1, 2015 



SB439 – Adjusters 
Public Adjusters . . . Continued 
 

• Compensation provisions shall not be redacted in any copy of a contract provided to OID. Such 

a redaction shall constitute an omission of material fact, 

• The public adjuster and the insured shall both indicate their agreement to the compensation 

provisions of the contract by initialing next to the provisions in the contract. 

• If the insurer, not later than 72 hours after the loss is reported to the 
insurer, either pays or commits in writing to pay the insured a policy 
coverage limit, the PA shall, with respect to that coverage (§ 6216.2(E)): 

– Not receive a % commission, 

– Inform the insured that the loss recovery might not be increased, and  

– Be entitled only to reasonable compensation for the services provided prior to the 

insurer’s payment or commitment to pay 
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Effective November 1, 2015 



SB439 – Adjusters 
Public Adjusters . . . Continued 
 
• A PA contract may not contain any term that (§ 6216.2(F)): 

– Allows the PA fee to be collected when money is due from an insurer but not yet paid, 

or that allows the PA to collect the entire fee from the 1st check issued by the insurer 

rather than as a % of each check, 

– Requires the insured to authorize an insurer to issue a check only in the name of the 

public adjuster, 

– Imposes collection costs or late fees, or 

– Precludes any party from pursuing civil remedies. 

• At the time of signing, a PA shall deliver to the insured, in any manner 
acceptable to the insured and approved by the Commissioner, a copy of 
the original executed contract (§ 6216.2(G)). 
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Effective November 1, 2015 



SB439 – Adjusters 
Public Adjusters . . . Continued 
 
• A PA contract may specify that an adjuster shall be named as a joint 

payee on an insurer’s payment of a claim (§ 6216.2(H)). 

• A public adjuster may not charge more than 10% on any claim resulting 
from a catastrophe declared by the Commissioner to be an emergency, 
except for those claims on behalf of a for-profit commercial entity             
(§ 6218(C)).  

• A PA shall not misrepresent to a claimant that the PA represents the 
insurer in any capacity (§ 6223(A)). 

• Shall not split any payment for adjusting services with any person or 
entity unless they are also licensed as a PA (§ 6223(B)).  
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Effective November 1, 2015 



SB439 – Adjusters 
Public Adjusters . . . Continued 
 
• A PA shall provide the insured with a separate disclosure document that 

sets out the definitions for the different adjusters and states that the 
insured is not required to hire a PA, the PA is not a rep or employee of 
the insurer, and the payment is the obligation of the insured not the 
insurer (§ 6223(C)).  

• The PA shall provide the insurer a notification letter signed by the 
insured authorizing the PA the represent the insured’s interests (§ 6223 
(D)).  

• A PA must hold money on behalf of an insured in a non-interest-bearing 
escrow or trust account (§ 6223 (E)).  
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Effective November 1, 2015 



SB439 – Adjusters 
Public Adjusters . . . Continued 
 
• A PA shall maintain a complete record of each transaction for at least 5 

years, which shall include the following (§ 6223 (F)):  

– Name of the insured, 

– Date, location, and the amount of the loss, 

– Copy of the signed contract, 

– Name of the insurer, amount, expiration date, and number of each policy, 

– Itemized statement of the insured’s recoveries, 

– Itemized statement of all compensation received by the PA from any source whatsoever 

in connection with the loss,  
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Effective November 1, 2015 



SB439 – Adjusters 
Public Adjusters . . . Continued 
 

– Register of all monies received, deposited, disbursed, or withdrawn in connection with 

a transaction with an insured, 

– Name of the PA who executed the contract, and  

– Name of the attorney representing the insured, if applicable, and the name of the claim 

representatives of the insurance company.  

• A PA shall not solicit or attempt to solicit an insured during the progress 
of a loss-producing occurrence (§ 6223(H)).  

• A PA shall not permit an unlicensed employee or representative to 
conduct business for which a license is required (§ 6223(I)). 

• A PA shall not acquire any interest in the salvage of the property without 
obtaining written permission from the insured (§ 6223(J)).  
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Effective November 1, 2015 



SB439 – Adjusters 
Public Adjusters . . . Continued 
 
• The PA shall not refer or direct the insured to obtain needed repairs or 

services in connection with the loss from any person or entity with whom 
the PA has a financial interest or from whom the PA may receive 
compensation for the referral (§ 6223(K)).  

• Any compensation to be received by the PA from any third party in 
connection with the loss shall be disclosed to the insured in writing         
(§ 6223(L)).  

• A PA shall not enter into a contract or accept power of attorney that vests 
in the PA the effective right to choose the persons who will perform 
repair work (§ 6223(M)).  
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Effective November 1, 2015 



SB439 – Adjusters 
Public Adjusters . . . Continued 
 
• The PA shall not agree to any loss settlement without the insured’s 

knowledge and consent (§ 6223(N)).  

• On a % fee contract, a PA may not require or accept any compensation 
prior to payment of any claim proceeds, whether such payment is partial 
in nature or payment in full (§ 6223(O)).  
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Effective November 1, 2015 



HB1033 – Bail 
• For professional and MCA financial statements, GAAP standards 

replaced with “Statements on Accounting Standards.”                                
59 O.S. §§ 1306, 1306.1, and 1309 

• Allows a transferee who has been a licensed surety bondsman for at least 
5 years to apply for a Multicounty Agent Bondsman license after the 180-
day grace period. § 1306.1(C)(2) 

• Prohibits a bondsman from refusing to return collateral (which is meant 
to pay the bond if it forfeits) for nonpayment of premium. § 1310(A)(21) 

• Adds residence address (which is not a public record) and business 
address to the list of information a bondsman must keep up to date with 
the OID. § 1310(A)(23) 

• Clarifies the expenses that must be paid by a bondsman. § 1310(A)(30)  
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Effective November 1, 2015 



HB1033 – Bail 
• Prohibits a bondsman from posting a bond for any defendant without a 

prior oral or written agreement.                                                                         
§ 1310(A)(33)  

• Allows a bondsman whose license is suspended or revoked to contract 
with a licensed bail enforcer to find and surrender the bondsman’s 
delinquent clients.                                                                                                 
§ 1311.3(C) 

• Updates language to include multicounty agent bondsmen, a new type of 
bondsman license created in 2014.                                                                      
§§ 1314, 1316, 1317, 1320, and 1321 

• Clarifies that that individuals who are prohibited by law from being a 
bail bondsman may also not perform the “acts of a bail bondsman.”          
§ 1315(A) 
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Effective November 1, 2015 



HB1033 – Bail 
• Eliminates the requirement that a professional bondsman submit to OID 

their agreement with an appointed surety bondsman because the OID has 
no authority to enforce that agreement.                                                            
§ 1316(A)(1) 

• Clarifies the fees a bondsman must pay to each court clerk. Instead of 
paying $10 each year to each court clerk in which a bondsman files his or 
her license, they will pay $20 every other year.                                               
§ 1320 

• Allows the Commissioner to accept forms or payments in electronic 
formats.                                                                                                                      
§ 1341 
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Effective November 1, 2015 



SB 340 – Interlocal Entities 
36 O.S. § 607.1 

• Interlocal Entities insuring educational institutions shall:  

– annually file an unqualified opinion from a CPA.  

– annually file an actuarial opinion (consistent with Actuarial Standards of 

Practice - ASOP) within 180 days after the end of its fiscal year.    

• Defines that a qualified actuary is a member of the America Academy of 
Actuaries and has met their Qualifications Standards for Issuing 
Statements of Actuarial Opinions in the United States. 

• Adds “qualified actuary” to those that may file a request for extension.  
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Effective November 1, 2015 



SB 2021 – Supervisory Colleges 
 

• Allows the Commissioner to participate in supervisory 
colleges for the purpose of examining holding companies 
which have international operations.                                      
New Law – 36 O.S. § 1656.1 

• Strengthens  confidentiality of documents obtained by or 
disclosed to OID pursuant to Article 16A of the Insurance 
Code. Amended § 1657.1 
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Effective November 1, 2015 



SB 663 – Own Risk Solvency Assessment (ORSA) 

New Law – 36 O.S. §§ 3301-3309 

• An insurer that is subject to the ORSA requirements will be expected to: 
– Annually conduct an ORSA to analyze all reasonably foreseeable and relevant 

material risks (i.e., underwriting, credit, market, operational, liquidity risks, etc.) that 
could have an impact on the insurer’s ability to meet its policyholder obligations.;  

– Internally document the process and results of the assessment; and  

– Provide a confidential high-level ORSA Summary Report annually to the 
Commissioner. 

• Applies to any insurer that writes more than $500m of annual direct 
written and assumed premium, and/or insurance groups that collectively 
write more than $1b of annual direct written and assumed premium.  

• Only 2 companies in Oklahoma that currently meet this threshold.  
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Effective January 1, 2016 



Administrative Rules 
Chapter 10 - Life, Accident, and Health 

365:10-1-13 

• This rule requiring health insurers to notify rejected applicants that they 
may be eligible for coverage through the Oklahoma Health Insurance 
High Risk Pool or the Oklahoma Temporary High Risk Pool is repealed 
because all statutory high risk pool provisions were repealed in 2014.  

365:10-1-15 

• The “child only rule” prohibits discrimination in the issuance of 
insurance to children as single applicants. This rule is repealed as 
unnecessary because federal law no longer permits a health insurance 
carrier to deny coverage to an applicant of any age on the basis of pre-
existing conditions. 
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Effective September 15, 2015 



Administrative Rules 
365:10-3-3 and 365:10-3-31 

• This Subchapter sets out the rules for the advertising of accident and health insurance 
as well as life insurance. “Social media” is added to the definition of “advertisement.”  

 

365:10-9-1, 2, 3, and 3.1, and Appendices WW, XX, YY, and ZZ 

• The amendments in Subchapter 9 address the NAIC’s December 2012 adoption of the 
revised Model Rule for Recognizing a New Annuity Mortality Table for Use in 
Determining Reserve Liabilities for Annuities. The revised model adds the 2012 
Individual Annuity Reserving Mortality Table (2012 IAR Mortality Table). The rule 
amendments include (1) adding the 2012 IAR Mortality Table to the list of recognized 
mortality tables; (2) adding definitions for Period Table, Generational Mortality 
Table, 2012 IAR Mortality Table, 2012 IAM Period Table, and Projection Scale G2; and 
(3) establishing when and how the 2012 IAR Mortality Table may be used. Four new 
appendices (WW, XX, YY, and ZZ) are added to reflect these changes 
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Effective September 15, 2015 



Administrative Rules 
Subchapter 31. Navigators and Navigator Entities 

• Subchapter 31 is an entirely new subchapter devoted to implementing the 
provisions of new law relating to the registration and oversight of 
Navigators and Navigator Entities (36 O.S. §§ 1415.2-1415.5).  

 

• Annual application fee of $25 for individual Navigators. $50 for 
Navigator Entities.  
 

• Individual applicants must submit to criminal background check 
conducted by ISBI and submit the completed report to OID at the time of 
application. Only applies to initial applications—not renewals.  
 

• Sets out the procedure for Navigators or Navigator Entities who face 
disciplinary action from the Commissioner in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedures Act 
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Effective September 15, 2015 



Administrative Rules 
Individual navigator requirements: 

• If a navigator obtains authorization from an individual or group to 
provide assistance, the navigator must give the individual or group a 
signed disclaimer form created by the Commissioner. Must also record 
the contact information and date of contact for the individual or group 
and provide that information to the navigator entity within 3 days.  
 

• Must allow for inspection of operations and records specifically related to 
the enrollment or assistance in enrollment duties of the navigator at the 
discretion of the Commissioner.  
 

• Must submit to the Commissioner at his or her request a report setting 
forth the contact information for all individuals or employer groups 
which receive a disclaimer form from the navigator.  
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Effective September 15, 2015 



Administrative Rules 
Navigator entity requirements: 
• Shall maintain a record of all individuals employed or overseen as a navigator for 

a period of 3 years following the last date of employment or oversight.  

• Maintain all records required to be provided to the entity by navigators for 3 

years. 

• Allow for an inspection of operations and records related to the duties of the 

navigator entity.  

• Submit a report to the Commissioner setting forth the individuals or groups who 

have received a disclaimer from a navigator employed or overseen by the 

navigator entity.  

• Submit at the time of application a list of all navigators it is employing or 

overseeing at the time of application, or those it has overseen in the previous year.  

• Report to the Commissioner any termination of a navigator if they are terminated 

for failing to comply with any requirement of Title 36.  
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Effective September 15, 2015 



Administrative Rules 
Chapter 15. Property and Casualty 

• 365:15-1-3 and 365:15-7-3  are amended to reflect the Insurance 
Department’s move to all electronic filings.  

 

• 365:15-1-3.1 is amended to reflect a legislative change. The “workers’ 
compensation medical claims small deductible form” is now the 
“workers’ compensation optional deductible form.” Appendix B is also 
amended to reflect this change.  

 

• Subchapter 9 (Medical Professional Liability Rate Setting) and Appendix 
D are revoked because the statutory basis for the rules and appendix (36 
O.S. § 6821) was repealed in HB1512 in 2013.  
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Effective September 15, 2015 



Administrative Rules 
Chapter 25. Other Licensees 

• 365:25-3-1 – All licensed property insurance producers are required to 
obtain 1 hour of continuing education in the topic of earthquake 
insurance every 2 years as part of their overall requirement.   

• 365:25-3-14 - All licensed property insurance adjusters are required to 
obtain 1 hour of continuing education in the topic of earthquake 
insurance every 2 years as part of their overall requirement.   

• 365:25-5-31 - All bail bondsman applications shall include the 
bondsman’s phone number and legal name.  

• 365:25-5-48 – New rule defining the “acts of a bondsman” for the purpose 
of 59 O.S. § 1311.3, which prohibits those who have had a bondsman 
licensed suspended, revoked, surrendered or refused from performing 
the acts of a bondsman.  
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Effective September 15, 2015 



Administrative Rules 
The definition includes: 
 
(1) Soliciting for a bond as defined in 59 O.S. § 1301(B)(11);  

(2) Accepting collateral and providing a written receipt for collateral pursuant to 59 O.S. § 1314(A);  

(3) Collecting premiums in person at a location other than the bondsman’s recorded place of business 

pursuant to 59 O.S. § 1316(C);  

(4) Providing a written receipt for premium pursuant to 59 O.S. § 1316(C); 

(5) Negotiating or posting bonds pursuant to 59 O.S. § 1317(D); 

(6) Surrendering a defendant into custody pursuant to 59 O.S. § 1327(A);  

(7) Returning a defendant to custody prior to forfeiture pursuant to 59 O.S. §§ 1327 & 1328;  

(8) Filing or signing with the court clerk a notice of return to custody; 

(9) Signing or filing with the court clerk a guarantee to pay travel expenses;  

(10) Signing and presenting a request that a defendant be entered into the records of the National 

Crime Information Center (NCIC);   

(11) Submitting monthly reports to the Insurance Department pursuant to 59 O.S. § 1314(B);  

(12) Providing to the Oklahoma Insurance Department required documentation regarding Notice of 

Appointment, Filing Fee, and Notice of Termination pursuant to 59 O.S. § 1317; and  

(13) Any other act that imposes any duty or obligation upon a licensed bail bondsman or surety.  

 

 

  

47 
Effective September 15, 2015 



Administrative Rules 
Subchapter 15. Captive Insurance Companies Regulation 

• The rules relating to captive insurance companies are updated for clarity 
and efficiency.  

Subchapter 19. Annuity Disclosure Regulation 

• 365:25-19-3 – Annuities used to fund prepaid funeral benefits are 
explicitly exempted from the rules.  
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Administrative Rules 
Subchapter 25. Oklahoma Employee Injury Benefit Act [NEW] 

365:25-25-1. Purpose (New) 

• These rules set out the procedure for employers to secure compensation for their 
covered employees under the Oklahoma Employee Injury Benefit Act.  

365:25-25-2. Scope (New) 

• The Subchapter applies to all employers who elect to be exempt from the 
Administrative Workers’ Compensation Act and become a Qualified Employer 
(“QE”).  

365:25-25-3. Authority (New) 

• Promulgated under the authority of the Commissioner under the two Acts.  

365:25-25-4. Definitions (New) 

• Sets out the definitions of terms used in the Subchapter. 
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Administrative Rules 
Subchapter 25. Oklahoma Employee Injury Benefit Act [NEW] 

365:25-25-5. Election notification to the Oklahoma Insurance Department (New) 

• Any employer electing to become a QE, or renew its election after the 1-year term, 
must complete a form electronically and provide all information at least 60 days 
prior to the desired effective date of the election.  

• The election form must include complete answers and proof of the employer’s 
ability to secure compensation for its covered employees. 

• The employer may proceed with its written benefit plan after confirmation of 
election from OID.  

• A QE must submit documentation upon request by OID to affirm its continued 
compliance and notify OID of any change of material information within 14 days 
after the change. If a QE is found noncompliant, OID may withdraw its 
confirmation of the employer as a QE.  
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Administrative Rules 
Subchapter 25. Oklahoma Employee Injury Benefit Act [NEW] 

365:25-25-6. Election fee (New) 

• $1,500 nonrefundable fee upon filing an initial or renewal election form.  

365:25-25-7. Written benefit plan (New) 

• The employer must submit to OID: 

– A copy of the employer’s written benefit plan, 

– A statement explaining the procedure used to notify the employer’s covered 
employees that the employer has elected to become a QE, 

– The name, title, address, and telephone number for a covered employee to 
contact for claims administration, and whether that party is in-house, a third-
party administrator, or an insurance carrier, and 

– A copy of the employer’s Employee Notice.  
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Administrative Rules 
Subchapter 25. Oklahoma Employee Injury Benefit Act [NEW] 

365:25-25-8. Employee notice (New) 

• An employer may not act as a QE until it provides written notification to its 
employees in substantially the same for as the “Notice to Employees Concerning 
Qualified Employer” (See Appendix Z).  

• The notice must be posted at conspicuous locations at the QE’s place(s) of 
business to provide notice that the employer is a QE, it does not carry workers’ 
compensation coverage, and its workers’ compensation coverage has been 
terminated or canceled.  

365:25-25-9. Funding of Qualified Employer’s benefit plan, liability, and other 
insurable risk (New) 

• A QE may self-fund or insure benefits payable under the benefit plan (which are 
in the nature of workers’ compensation), the employer’s liability under the 
Employee Injury Benefit Act, and any other insurable risk related to its QE status.  
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Administrative Rules 
Subchapter 25. Oklahoma Employee Injury Benefit Act [NEW] 

365:25-25-10. Insuring Qualified Employer’s benefit plan, liability, and other 
insurable risk (New) 

• A Qualified Employer electing to insure benefits payable must obtain insurance 
coverage in an amount equal to the compensation obligation with an admitted or 
surplus lines carrier which has an AM Best Rating of B+ or better.  

• Such coverage pertains to Oklahoma covered employees only. Employers with 
employees working in other states must arrange separate coverage for those 
employees in compliance with that state’s laws.  
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Administrative Rules 
Subchapter 25. Oklahoma Employee Injury Benefit Act [NEW] 

365:25-25-11. Self-Funding Qualified Employer’s benefit plan, liability, and other 
insurable risk (New) 

• A QE electing to self-fund benefits payable must secure compensation to covered 
employees by furnishing proof to OID of its financial ability to pay the 
compensation and meet the following requirements: 

– Provide documentation regarding the employer’s yearly claims for the last 3 
years, 

– Attach employer’s most recent financial statement including a balance sheet 
and income statement, and 

– Furnish proof of the employer’s financial ability to pay the compensation 
(rule sets out the full specific standards which an employer must meet). 
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Administrative Rules 
Subchapter 25. Oklahoma Employee Injury Benefit Act [NEW] 

365:25-25-12. Surety bond and irrevocable letter of credit (New) 

• Surety bonds must be from an admitted or surplus lines insurer with an AM Best 
Rating of B+ or better, and on a form prescribed by OID.  

• Irrevocable letters of credit shall contain such terms as may be prescribed by OID, 
include an automatic renewal clause, and cannot be non-renewed without at least 
60 days prior written notice to OID, and shall be issued for the benefit of OID by a 
financial institution, approved in advance by OID, whose deposits are insured by 
FDIC.  

• OID may make demand and collect on the posted letter of credit in the case of 
actual or imminent default of the employer to pay compensation liabilities or the 
cancellation of the letter of credit without an adequate replacement. 
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Administrative Rules 
Subchapter 25. Oklahoma Employee Injury Benefit Act [NEW] 

365:25-25-13. Release of security deposit (New) 

• Security deposit must remain in place for at least 2 years after the Qualified 
Employer ceases to self-fund its benefit plan.  

• The deposit may be reduced at OID’s discretion after the 2-year waiting period 
upon application and submission of current financial statements and loss runs. 

• The deposit may be released at OID’s discretion upon application and submission 
of current financial statements and a signed and notarized affidavit affirming that 
all injury claims have been permanently closed.  

• The deposit will be released in full by OID within a reasonable time following 
proof of an assumption agreement or equivalent from a licensed insurance carrier.  
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Administrative Rules 
Subchapter 25. Oklahoma Employee Injury Benefit Act [NEW] 

365:25-25-14. Oklahoma Option Self-Insured Guaranty Fund (New) 

• Upon declaration by the Commissioner that a self-insurer has become an 
impaired insurer, the Commissioner will petition the Workers’ Compensation 
Commission for its approval that the Commissioner release the Qualified 
Employer’s required security from the State Treasurer and shall advise the 
Oklahoma Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Association of the 
impairment.  

365:25-25-15. Severability (New) 

• The provisions of the Subchapter are declared severable.  
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Administrative Rules 
Subchapter 29. Pharmacy Benefits Managers [NEW] 

365:25-29-5 – PBM licenses must include: 
 
• Identity of the PBM and any controlling entity.  
• Name and address of corporate officers and directors, members and managers (if 

an LLC), or names of all partners (if a partnership).  
• License fee of $1,000. 
• Certificate of Incorporation or comparable organizational document from the 

domiciliary state of the PBM.  
• Report of any suspension or other disciplinary action relating to the PBM and its 

officers and directors. 
• Name and address for agent for service of process in Oklahoma.  
• Number of total individuals or lives covered under all contracts or agreements in 

OK. 
• Audited financial statements.  
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Administrative Rules 
365:25-29-7 – License specifics 

• License lasts 1 year. $500 renewal fee.  

• Can reinstate within a year after failing to renew. $1,000 reinstatement fee.  

• If denied, within 30 days a PBM may request a hearing before an independent 
hearing examiner. 

 

365:25-29-8 – Financial statements.  

• A PBM shall annually submit a financial statement using GAAP that consists of a 
balance sheet, income statement, and statement of cash flows.  

 

365:25-29-9 – MAC. 

•  Sets out specific requirements for PBM’s related to contracts with providers and 
Maximum Allowable Cost lists and MAC appeals.  
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Administrative Rules 
365:25-29-10 – Penalties 

• If a PBM violates the provisions of the statutes or rules, they face a suspension or 
revocation of their license and/or a fine of $500-$5,000 for each violation.  

 

365:25-29-11 – Definitions 

• Sets out the definition for “doing pharmacy benefits management business in this 
state.” 

 

Chapter 40. Health Maintenance Organizations (HMO) 

• 365:40-5-51 and 365:40-5-58 are amended to require coordination between 
individual and group health insurance products for HMOs, as well as between 
group health insurance products, in order to prevent over-insurance of a person’s 
health insurance risk. In turn, this will help keep premiums low for policyholders. 
An identical rule change was made in 2014 for PPOs. This rule brings HMOs in 
line with the same requirements. 
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