OKLAHOMA INSURANCE DEPARTMENT



Legislative , Administrative Code, and OID Changes 2011

www.oid.ok.gov

State Based Systems (SBS)

- Free printing of license
- Less expensive processing fees
- View and update license records
- View appointments and associations
- Change addresses in all states with one change request
- Sign up for automated e-mail notifications
- License administrators can produce reports on all licensees
- Cost savings to Oklahoma taxpayers and reduced fees for licensees!



INSURANCE LICENSING Statute Changes 2011

Change in license renewal date

Oklahoma adopts national licensing standard

Birth month renewals

- Two year implementation
- Fees and licensing period will be pro-rated upon the first renewal after implementation.
 - 18-30 month license
- Fees will be pro-rated or short-rated at time of initial licensure for new licensees

Licensing

HB 1243 amends 36 O.S. § 1435.6 (K)

Eliminates submission of application prior to insurance examination

- New process...take and pass examination and then apply NIPR
- Links will be provided to NIPR website via the OID website at http://oid.ok.gov
- Effective June 20, 2011

Licensing continued

- HB 1243 amends 36 O.S. § 1435.7(A)(3) and repeals 36 O.S. § 1435.7A
 - **Eliminates** provisional license or participation in an approved training program requirement
 - Effective June 20, 2011

Licensing continued

HB 1243 amends 36 O.S. § 1435.8 (C) and § 6208 Changes reinstatement period for license from 24 months to **12 months**

- Effective June 20, 2011

HB 1243 amends 36 O.S. § 1435.8 (F) and § 6212 Requires valid **email address** with OID and update within **30 days** of a change

- Effective June 20, 2011

Licensing continued

- HB 1243 amends 36 O.S. § 1435.29 (A)(1) and (A)(2) and § 6217
 - Allows CE in lines **other** than those held by licensee
 - **Broadens** the types of courses available for continuing education.

HB 1243 amends 36 O.S. § 1435.29(B)(1)

- Eliminates provisional courses and providers
- Effective June 20, 2011

Licensing continued

HB 1243 amends 36 O.S. § 6209(B)

Updates names of classes of insurance for adjusters:

- Property
- Casualty
- Workers' Compensation
- Crime and Fidelity Bonds
- Crop/Hail
- Multi-peril Crop
- <u>Please note</u>: motor vehicle physical damage will now show on the license as property.
- Effective June 20, 2011

Licensing continued

HB 2072 amends 36 O.S. § 628

- Retaliatory fees no longer imposed on non-residents
 - Effective August 28, 2011

HB 2072 amends 36 O.S. § 1435.23

- Non-Resident license fee now \$100.00
 - Effective August 28, 2011



Licensing continued

HB 2072 amends 36 O.S. § 1435.23 Biennial appointment fee of \$55.00 is now **annual appointment fee \$30.00**

- Effective August 28, 2011

Licensing continued

HB 2072 amends 36 O.S. § 1435.29

Professional designation program approved by Commissioner will meet biennial CE requirement if program curriculum totals 24 hours within 24 months

- Effective August 28, 2011

HB 2072 amends 36 O.S. § 1435.29

Commissioner may assess a civil penalty against CE providers who fail to comply with the requirements of Oklahoma Producer Licensing Act

- Effective August 28, 2011

Licensing continued

SB 778 amends 36 O.S. § 6203

Individuals who collect claim information and conduct data entry into "automated claims adjudication system" not required to be licensed as adjusters

SB 778 amends 36 O.S. § 6205

Canadian residents can not be licensed as adjusters or designate Oklahoma as home state until successfully passing exam and complying with Insurance Adjusters Licensing Act

- Effective August 28, 2011



INSURANCE LICENSING Administrative Code Changes July 14, 2011



Revoked 365:25-3-1.1, 1.2, & 1.3

Provisional license or participation in an approved training program requirement is **eliminated.**

Amended 365:25-3-14(d)(1)(A)

- (A) <u>All adjusters who adjudicate workers compensation claims shall</u> <u>complete 6 hours of CE relating to Workers' Compensation Act as</u> <u>part of 24 hours of CE</u>
- (B) Insurers who utilize resident or nonresident WC adjusters shall verify the adjuster has completed the biennial CE requirement by:
 - obtaining certificates of completion of the CE course; or

 obtaining reports provided by Commissioner-sponsored database systems or vendors; or

- obtaining reports from a reasonably reliable commercial database vendor that has a reporting arrangement with approved CE providers.

(C) Insurers shall maintain records for this CE requirement.



Amended 365:25-3-15

- (a) <u>Producers who sell a variable life product must pass life</u> <u>exam and provide proof of current FINRA registration.</u>
- (b) No test shall be required for a variable annuity license if:
 (1) The applicant provides proof of current FINRA, and
 (2) The applicant shall pay an additional license fee and submit variable annuity application.



Revoked 365:25-3-17

Agriculture Revenue Insurance License

- This line now falls under the core line of property



Amended 365:25-3-18(a)(4) and (5)

Eliminates one time 8 hour Medicare Advantage training requirement



EDUCATION PROVIDER Administrative Code Changes July 14, 2011

NEW 365:25-3-1(e)(3) and 365:25-3-14 (F)(12) Reinstatement Period for CE Providers

Providers whose approval has expired may be reinstated for a period of one (1) year following the expiration of the renewal date. The approval of the provider and any currently active courses shall remain active for the reinstatement period. If the provider and all courses fail to remain active following the reinstatement period, the provider and courses shall not be reinstated and the provider and courses shall be required to be approved.

Additional Information

- Oklahoma Insurance Department
 - Licensing Division
 - 405-521-3916
 - Iicensing@oid.ok.gov

View full listing of Oklahoma Insurance Code and Insurance Department Rules

- Continuing Education
 - <u>education@oid.ok.gov</u>