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Oklahoma'’s recently enacted Insurance Business Transfer Act takes effect on Nov. 1,
2018.[1] The Oklahoma act allows any insurer to transfer and novate books of
business to an Oklahoma-domiciled insurer without the affirmative consent of
policyholders, referred to as an insurance business transfer, pursuant to approval of
both the Oklahoma insurance commissioner and the District Court of Oklahoma
County. Oklahoma is the latest state to pass a run-off law in response to increasing
demand for these types of transactions.

Oklahoma Insurance Business Transfer Act

The Oklahoma act allows for the transfer and novation of property, casualty, life and
health policies, as well as any other line of insurance that the commissioner finds
suitable. To affect an insurance business transfer, the transferring insurer first files
an insurance business transfer plan, or IBT plan, with the commissioner. The IBT plan
must include, inter alia:

e The most recent audited financial statements and statutory annual and
quarterly reports of both the transferring insurer and the assuming insurer.

e A proposal for implementation and administration of the IBT plan, including
the form of notice to be provided to any policyholders affected by the IBT
plan and a full description of how such notice will be provided.

e Evidence of approval or nonobjection of the transfer from the chief
insurance regulator of the state of the transferring insurer’s domicile.

e An opinion report from an independent expert, which must include, inter
alia:

e The independent expert’s opinion of the likely effects of the IBT plan on o .
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e Policyholders and claimants of the transferring insurer whose policies will not be
transferred.

e Policyholders and claimants of the assuming insurer.

e Consideration as to whether the security position of policyholders affected by the insurance
business transfer would be materially adversely affected.

The commissioner has 60 business days to review an IBT plan (this period may be extended by an
additional 30 business days). The IBT plan must be approved unless the commissioner finds that the IBT
plan would have a material adverse impact on the interests of policyholders or claimants. After the
commissioner approves the IBT plan, the transferring insurer may petition the district court for
approval. Within 15 days after a hearing is scheduled, the transferring insurer must provide notice to
certain parties (policyholders receive notice by first-class U.S. mail). The notice to policyholders must
provide, inter alia:

e That a policyholder may comment on or object to the transfer and novation.
e A summary of any effect that the transfer and novation will have on the policyholder’s rights.

e That policyholders shall not have the opportunity to opt out of or otherwise reject the transfer
and novation. (emphasis added)

After notice is given, any policyholder or other party that believes it will be adversely affected can
present evidence or comments to the district court at the approval hearing, which follows a 60-day
comment period. If the district court finds that the IBT plan would not materially adversely affect the
interests of policyholders or claimants, then the district court will enter an implementation order.
Following district court approval, the assuming insurer becomes directly liable to the policyholders of
the transferring insurer, and the transferring insurer’s obligations and risks under the transferred
policies are extinguished.

Rhode Island Insurance Regulation 68

Like the Oklahoma act, Rhode Island’s Insurance Regulation 68 allows any insurer to transfer and novate
certain books of business to another insurer pursuant to regulatory and court approval.[2] The process
for effecting a transfer and novation under Regulation 68 is similar to the process under the Oklahoma

act:

e Aninsurance business transfer plan is first submitted to the Insurance Division of the Rhode
Island Department of Business Regulation.

e The plan must include, inter alia:

e The most recent audited financial statements and annual reports of the transferring
company filed with its domiciliary regulator.



e The form of notice to be provided under the plan to any policyholder or reinsured of the
transferring company whose policies are to be transferred and a full description as to how
such notice will be provided.

e Approval of the plan from the transferring company’s domiciliary regulator.
e An expert report providing an opinion on the proposed transaction.

e The department can only approve the plan if, in the department’s opinion, it would have no
material adverse impact on the insurer’s policyholders, reinsureds or claimants of policies
subject to the transfer.

o After the department approves the plan, the assuming company must apply to the Superior
Court of Providence County, or the Superior Court, for approval.

e After a hearing is scheduled, the assuming company must provide notice to interested parties.
e A 60-day comment period follows the distribution of the notice.

e Any person who believes he or she will be adversely affected can make a presentation to the
Superior Court at the approval hearing.

e The Superior Court will approve the plan if it finds no material adverse impact to policyholders,
reinsureds or claimants on the transferred policies.

Although similar in many respects, the Oklahoma act is broader in scope than Rhode Island’s Regulation
68. Under Regulation 68, transferring companies can only transfer blocks of property/casualty business to
Rhode Island-domiciled commercial run-off insurers. Under the Oklahoma act, however, property,
casualty, life and health policies can all be transferred (and potentially any other line of business deemed
appropriate by the commissioner). Moreover, the Oklahoma act applies to both active and run-off books
of business, whereas Regulation 68 only applies to run-off business.

The laws also differ with respect to notice. Under Regulation 68, the Rhode Island department will send
electronic notice to all persons who have requested notice of insurance issues indicating that the plan has
been filed and is available for review. Individuals can then file comments with the department within 30
days after the notice, and the department will consider these comments before determining whether it
will approve the plan. The Oklahoma act does not provide for notice at the regulatory approval stage.
Although both laws do not provide an opt-out provision for policyholders, only the Oklahoma act requires
that policyholders be notified that they cannot opt-out of the transfer and novation.

As of the date of this article, no insurance business transfer has been approved under Regulation 68.[3]
This past September, however, ProTucket Insurance Company, the first Rhode Island domestic insurer
created to take advantage of Regulation 68, received $35,000,000 of funding from its parent company,
Pro U.S. Holdings. This funding allows ProTucket to meet minimum capital requirements necessary to
assume books of business under Regulation 68.

Assumption Reinsurance Model Act

The Assumption Reinsurance Model Act, which has been adopted by 10 states,[4] regulates the transfer



and novation of insurance contracts through assumption reinsurance agreements. An “assumption
reinsurance agreement” is defined as “any contract that both: (1) [t]ransfers insurance obligations or
risks, or both, of existing or in-force contracts of insurance from a transferring insurer to an assuming
insurer[,] and (2) [i]s intended to effect a novation of the transferred contract of insurance with the result
that the assuming insurer becomes directly liable to the policyholders of the transferring insurer and the
transferring insurer’s insurance obligations or risks, or both, under the contracts are extinguished.”[5]

Certain notice and disclosure requirements must be satisfied to effect a novation under the model act.
The transferring insurer must provide to each policyholder a notice that states, inter alia, (1) that the
policyholder has the right to either consent to or reject the transfer and novation, and (2) the procedures
and time limit for consenting to or rejecting the transfer and novation.[6] The model act also requires the
insurance commissioner’s prior approval for transactions where an insurer domiciled in a state that has
adopted the model act assumes or transfers insurance contracts under an assumption reinsurance
agreement.[7]

Policyholders have the right to reject the transfer and novation by returning written notice indicating that
the assumption is rejected.[8] Policyholders will be deemed to have accepted the transfer if they pay
premium to the assuming company during the two-year period after notice is received, provided that the
notice clearly states that payment of premium to the assuming insurer shall constitute acceptance of the
transfer.[9] A deemed acceptance also occurs if a policyholder fails to accept or reject a second and final
notice of transfer within one month after the date of mailing (the second and final notice may be sent if,
after no fewer than two years from the mailing of the initial notice, no affirmative consent to, or rejection
of, the transfer has been received).[10] A novation only occurs if the policyholder consents to the transfer
(with the exception of certain situations where an insurer is in hazardous financial conditions or an
administrative proceeding has been instituted against it for the purpose of reorganizing or conserving the
insurer).[11]

While both the model act and the Oklahoma act provide mechanisms to transfer and novate books of
business from one insurer to another, key differences exist between the two acts. The model act generally
requires only regulatory approval of assumption reinsurance agreements, whereas the Oklahoma act
requires regulatory and court approval of IBT Plans. The model act allows policyholders to opt-out of the
assumption reinsurance agreement by rejecting the transfer and novation. No novation is effected with
respect to a policyholder who chooses to reject the transaction. In contrast, if an IBT plan is approved in
accordance with the Oklahoma act, the transfer and novation is effected with respect to all policyholders,
even those who affirmatively objected to the transfer.[12]

Due Process Arguments Under the Oklahoma Act

The Oklahoma act may prompt constitutional challenges to its allowance of transfers and novations of
books of business in the absence of any form of policyholder consent, affirmative or otherwise. Under the
Oklahoma act, an insurance business transfer could theoretically be approved over the objection of all
policyholders. Most state laws providing for one insurer to transfer its liabilities to another, pursuant to
regulatory approval, require at least the tacit consent of policyholders in order for the transfer to take
effect by, for example, paying premium to the assuming insurer after notification of the transfer.[13] An
issue that may arise is whether the notice and hearing provisions of the Oklahoma act are sufficient to
satisfy the requirement of due process.

Policyholders and other interested parties have brought due process claims in various insurance-related
contexts in which contractual rights have been modified over their objections. For example, in In re



Ambac Assur. Corp.,[14] interested parties challenged a rehabilitation plan that was approved over their
objections by arguing, inter alia, that their due process rights were violated because the court denied
their requests for discovery. The interested parties argued that, absent discovery, they lacked sufficient
time and information to evaluate the rehabilitation plan, which in turn denied them the right to be
meaningfully heard.[15] The Wisconsin Court of Appeals held that the interested parties were not denied
due process, despite the denial of their discovery requests, because they were provided notice and an
opportunity to be heard, they were given an opportunity prior to the plan approval hearing to file written
objections to the plan, they could submit questions to the commissioner (to which the commissioner
responded in advance of the hearing), and they had the opportunity to present and cross-examine
witnesses at the plan approval hearing.[16] The commissioner also provided the interested parties with
hundreds of pages of documents relevant to the rehabilitation plan prior to the hearing.[17]

The Arkansas Supreme Court, in Mendel v. Garner,[18] similarly held that the due process rights of
annuity policyholders whose claims were affected by the approval of a rehabilitation plan were not
violated, inasmuch as the policyholders were allowed to submit evidence and testimony at the approval
hearing.[19] The court stated that “[t]he rehabilitation of insurance companies pursuant to state
insolvency statutes does not impair the obligations of contracts” and that “[a] hearing with the
submission of evidence and testimony satisfies the constitutional requirement of due process of law.”[20]

In LaFarge Corp. v. Com.,[21] the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania held that policyholders and reinsurers
appealing a decision of the Pennsylvania Insurance Department that approved a plan of restructure and
division of an insurance company were not entitled to an adversarial hearing before the plan could be
approved.[22] The court held that due process did not require the insurance department to conduct an
adversarial hearing on a plan to restructure and divide an insurance company where notice was published
and interested parties were invited to submit written comments and objections.[23] According to the
court, additional procedures such as testimony and cross-examination would entail extensive delay,
would not materially enhance the interests of the policyholders and reinsurers, and would require the
insurance department to engage in evaluation of speculative harm.[24] The court also noted that the
insurance department solicited independent expert reports and evaluations concerning the solvency and
financial integrity of the proposed restructuring, that everyone who indicated a desire to speak was
permitted to make an oral presentation to the commissioner, and that the commissioner analyzed
materials and found that the transaction was not injurious to the interest of policyholders and
creditors.[25]

If a challenge were brought by policyholders or other parties against the Oklahoma act on due process
grounds, Oklahoma would likely argue that the law passes constitutional muster because: (1) the transfer
is vetted by the commissioner’s review and approval of the IBT plan, which must include, among other
things, an independent expert report that analyzes the transaction and considers whether the interests of
policyholders would be materially adversely affected; (2) policyholders are provided notice of the
transaction and its effect on their rights; (3) policyholders are given a 60-day comment period during
which they can comment on and object to the transfer; (4) interested parties can present evidence and
comments at the approval hearing; and (5) the commissioner and the district court can only approve the
transfer and novation if the transaction does not materially adversely affect the interests of policyholders
and claimants.

The Wisconsin, Arkansas and Pennsylvania cases discussed above, as well as decisions in other similar
cases, looked to the opportunity for policyholders and other affected parties to have their objections
heard in the context of the courts’ evaluation of the plans, irrespective of whether their objections were
adopted or otherwise acted upon. This central requirement of opportunity to be heard will be at the



center of any due process challenge to the Oklahoma act. Whether the Oklahoma act’s procedural
safeguards satisfy the demands of due process will also depend upon the importance of the policyholders’
interests, the value of any additional safeguards and Oklahoma’s interests in proceeding without any
additional procedures. The policyholder consent requirement in the Assumption Reinsurance Model Act
will be noteworthy but not necessarily controlling in deciding whether the Oklahoma act is constitutional,
and whether policyholders and reinsureds who have been afforded an adequate opportunity for the
objections to be heard could prevent an IBT plan from taking effect.
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