TITLE 365. INSURANCE DEPARTMENT
CHAPTER 10. LIFE, ACCIDENT AND HEALTH

SUBCHAPTER 31. NAVIGATORS AND NAVIGATOR ENTITIES

365:10-31-1. Purpose

The purpose of this Subchapter is to set forth the regulations and procedures relating to
the registration and oversight of navigators and navigator entities under 36 O.S. 8§ 1415.2-
1415.5.

365:10-31-2. Scope
This Subchapter shall apply to all navigators and navigator entities, as defined by 36 O.S.
§ 1415.2, which must be registered pursuant to 36 O.S. § 1415.3.

365:10-31-3. Authority
This Subchapter is promulgated under the authority granted to the Insurance
Commissioner ("Commissioner”) in 36 O.S. § 1415.5.

365:10-31-4. Individual navigator registration application, registration renewals, fees, and
civil penalties
(@) An application for an individual navigator registration shall be on a form provided by the
Commissioner and shall be accompanied by a fee of Twenty-Five Dollars ($25.00). This fee
shall be deemed earned and not refundable if the application is denied, withdrawn, cancelled, or
refused for any reason by either the applicant or the Commissioner. Subject to the Oklahoma
Insurance Department’s ("OID") ability to accept electronic applications, all applicants for an
individual navigator registration shall apply electronically. The individual navigator registration
fee may be paid by the individual navigator or by the navigator entity employing or supervising
the navigator.
(b) An applicant for an initial individual navigator registration shall submit to a criminal
background check with the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation ("OSBI"). The criminal
background check shall be conducted through submission of a Criminal History Record
Information Request Form ("Form™) to the OSBI. The Form can be found on the OSBI website.
An individual navigator registration applicant shall submit to the following searches with the
OSBI: name based, sex offender, and Mary Rippy Violent Offender. The individual navigator
registration applicant shall submit a completed OSBI criminal background check report to the
OID at the time of application.
(1) An individual navigator registration applicant who is not a resident of the State of
Oklahoma shall submit with his or her initial application the results of a criminal
background check conducted by the state in which the applicant maintains his or her
principal place of residence.
(2) The background check required by this Section may be requested and paid for by the
individual navigator or by the navigator entity employing or supervising the navigator.
(3) The background check required by this Section shall be current as of a date no more
than thirty (30) days prior to the date of application.
(c) An individual navigator registration shall continue in force no longer than twelve (12) months
from the month of issuance. If the individual navigator fails to timely apply for renewal of his or
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her registration or fails to pay any applicable fees or outstanding fines by the last day of the
month in which the registration was originally issued, the registration shall expire automatically
and the individual shall be required to apply for a registration in the same manner as an initial
individual navigator registration application.

(d) Upon filing an individual navigator registration renewal application on a form provided by
the Commissioner, and upon payment of a renewal fee of Twenty-Five Dollars ($25.00), a
renewal registration shall be issued by the Commissioner to an individual navigator registrant
who has continuously maintained such registration. The registration renewal fee may be paid by
the individual navigator or by the navigator entity employing or supervising the navigator. An
applicant for renewal of an individual navigator registration shall not be required to submit to a
new criminal background check with the OSBI.

(e) In the event that the Commissioner declines to issue or renew an individual navigator
registration for any reason provided by law, the Commissioner shall notify the individual of such
declination and advise the individual, in writing, of the reason for the denial or nonrenewal of the
individual’s navigator registration. The individual may make written demand upon the
Commissioner within thirty (30) days of the date of notification by the Commissioner for a
hearing before the Commissioner or an independent hearing examiner appointed by the
Commissioner to determine the existence of the grounds for the Commissioner’s action. The
hearing shall be held within a reasonable time period pursuant to the Oklahoma Administrative
Procedures Act.

(f) After notice and opportunity for hearing, and upon determining that an individual navigator
has violated any of the provisions of Title 36 of the Oklahoma Statutes, or any rules promulgated
by the Commissioner, the Commissioner or his or her duly appointed hearing examiner may
suspend or revoke an individual navigator registration and assess a civil penalty for each
occurrence, or both, as set out by 36 O.S. 88 1415.3 and 1415.4.

365:10-31-5. Navigator entity registration application, registration renewals, fees, and civil
penalties

(@ An application for a navigator entity registration shall be on a form provided by the
Commissioner and shall be accompanied by a fee of Fifty Dollars ($50.00). This fee shall be
deemed earned and not refundable if the application is denied, withdrawn, cancelled, or refused
for any reason by either the applicant or the Commissioner. Subject to the OID’s ability to accept
electronic applications, all applicants for a navigator entity registration shall apply electronically.
(b) The navigator entity registration shall continue in force no longer than twelve (12) months
from the month of issuance. If the navigator entity fails to timely apply for renewal of its
registration or fails to pay any applicable fees or outstanding fines by the last day of the month in
which the license was originally issued, the registration shall expire automatically and the
navigator entity shall be required to apply for a registration in the same manner as an initial
navigator entity registration application.

(c) Upon filing a navigator entity registration renewal application on a form provided by the
Commissioner, and upon payment of a renewal fee of Fifty Dollars ($50.00), a renewal
registration shall be issued by the Commissioner to a navigator entity registrant which has
continuously maintained such registration.

(d) In the event that the Commissioner declines to issue or renew a navigator entity registration
for any of the reasons provided by law, the Commissioner shall notify the entity of such
declination and advise the entity, in writing, of the reason for the denial or nonrenewal of the



navigator entity registration. The entity may make written demand upon the Commissioner
within thirty (30) days of the date of notification by the Commissioner for a hearing before the
Commissioner or an independent hearing examiner appointed by the Commissioner to determine
the existence of the grounds for the Commissioner’s action. The hearing shall be held within a
reasonable time period pursuant to the Oklahoma Administrative Procedures Act.

(e) After notice and opportunity for hearing, and upon determining that a navigator entity has
violated any of the provisions of Title 36 of the Oklahoma Statutes, or any rules promulgated by
the Commissioner, the Commissioner or his or her duly appointed hearing examiner may
suspend or revoke the navigator entity’s registration.

(F) After notice and opportunity for hearing, and upon determining that a navigator entity has
allowed an individual who is employed or overseen by the navigator entity to interact with
individuals or employer groups while performing any of the functions of a navigator without an
active registration, the Commissioner or his or her duly appointed hearing examiner may assess a
civil penalty as set out by 36 O.S. § 1415.3.

365:10-31-6. Individual navigator requirements
(a) For the purpose of this Subchapter, the term ““assist” shall mean:
(1) facilitating the application for or enrollment of an individual or employer group in a
qualified health plan (QHP) on the exchange, either though an in-person meeting,
telephone conversation, video conference, mail, or any other electronic means, regardless
of whether the individual or employer group completes final enrollment in a QHP, or
(2) assisting in determining an individual’s eligibility for premium tax credits and cost
sharing reductions available for QHPs, including but not limited to receiving an
individual’s financial information for the purpose of determining said eligibility.
(b) “Assist” shall not include answering general questions about the exchange such as the
website address or phone number of the exchange.
(c) If an individual navigator obtains authorization to provide assistance to an individual or
employer group pursuant to 45 C.F.R. § 155.210(e)(6)(ii), the navigator shall provide a
disclaimer to the individual or employer group on a form provided by the Commissioner. If the
navigator assists an individual or employer group via telephone, the navigator shall read the
contents of the disclaimer to the individual or employer group, confirm that the individual or
employer group understands the disclaimer, and shall send a signed copy of the disclaimer to the
individual or employer group via certified mail, e-mail, or facsimile.
(d) If an individual navigator obtains authorization to provide assistance to an individual or
employer group pursuant to 45 C.F.R. § 155.210(e)(6)(ii), the navigator shall record the contact
information and the date of contact for the individual or employer group and provide such
information to the navigator entity within three (3) business days after the date of contact.
“Contact information” shall mean, but is not limited to, an individual or employer group’s name,
mailing address, phone number, and e-mail address. A navigator shall only be required to record
an individual or employer group’s contact information which is available.
(e) Any individual or employer group receiving assistance from a navigator may refuse, in
writing, to allow the individual or employer group’s contact information from being disclosed to
the Oklahoma Insurance Department. Provided, however, that no individual navigator shall
instruct, coerce, or otherwise direct the individual or employer group to make such a refusal. An
individual navigator shall provide a copy of the written refusal to the navigator entity within
three (3) business days after the date of refusal. If the individual or employer group receiving
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assistance from a navigator refuses in writing to allow the individual or employer group’s contact
information from being disclosed to the Oklahoma Insurance Department, the disclaimer form
shall still be provided to the individual or employer group pursuant to paragraph (c) of this
Section.

(F) An individual navigator shall allow for an inspection of operations and records related to the
fulfillment of the enrollment or assistance with enroliment duties of the individual navigator at
the discretion of the Commissioner. In order to safeguard consumer privacy, such an inspection
of operations and records shall not include the observation of an enrollment session.

() An individual navigator shall submit to the Commissioner, at the request of the
Commissioner, a report setting forth the individuals or employer groups which have received a
disclaimer form from the navigator pursuant to paragraph (c) of this Section. The report shall
include the contact information of any individual or employer group received by the navigator
pursuant to paragraph (d) of this Section.

(h) Any notification or report submitted to the Commissioner shall be submitted electronically.
Any navigator or navigator entity submitting information to the Commissioner shall take
appropriate steps to safeguard the transmission of the information in compliance with applicable
federal and state laws governing the security of such information.

365:10-31-7. Navigator entity requirements

(&) A navigator entity shall maintain a record of all individuals employed or overseen as an
individual navigator for a period of three (3) years following the date of termination of the
employment or oversight of the individual as a navigator. This record shall include the name,
date of hiring, job title, job description, length of employment, and date of termination for each
individual navigator. Subject to the ability of the navigator entity, these records shall be
maintained electronically.

(b) A navigator entity shall maintain all records required to be provided to the navigator entity by
registered individual navigators for a period of three (3) years following the date of termination
of the employment or oversight of each individual navigator. Subject to the ability of the
navigator entity, these records shall be maintained electronically.

(c) A navigator entity shall allow for an inspection of operations and records related to the
fulfillment of the enrollment or assistance with enrollment duties at the discretion of the
Commissioner. In order to safeguard consumer privacy, such an inspection of operations and
records shall not include the observation of an enrollment session.

(d) A navigator entity shall submit to the Commissioner, at the request of the Commissioner, a
report setting forth the individuals or employer groups which have received a disclaimer from
any navigator employed or supervised by the navigator entity pursuant to paragraph (c) of
Section 6 of this Subchapter. The report shall include the contact information of any individual
or employer group received by the navigator pursuant to paragraph (d) of Section 6 of this
Subchapter.

(e) At the time of application, a navigator entity shall provide the Commissioner with a list of all
individual navigators whom, at the time of application, it is employing, supervising or affiliated
with or has, during the previous year while registered as a navigator entity, employed, supervised
or been affiliated with. Subject to the ability of the navigator entity, this list shall be submitted to
the OID electronically.

(H A navigator entity registrant shall report to the Commissioner any termination of
employment, engagement, affiliation or other relationship with an individual navigator within
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thirty (30) days if the individual navigator registrant is terminated for failing to comply with any
requirement of Title 36 of the Oklahoma Statutes. Subject to the ability of the navigator entity,
this report shall be submitted electronically to the OID.



