BEFORE THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER OF  1E
STATE OF OKLAHOMA - —p

FEB 2 2 2016

INSURANGE CANSSIONER

Case No. 16-0130-DEN

STATE OF OKLAHOMA, ex rel. JOHN D.
DOAK, Insurance Commissioner,

Petitioner,
V.

LEONTEZ KYLE ARBERTHA, Applicant
For an Oklahoma Insurance Producer License,

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)

Respondent.

ORDER OF LICENSE PROBATION

COMES NOW the State of Oklahoma, ex rel. John D. Doak, Insurance Commissioner,
by and through his undersigned counsel, and alleges and states:

JURISDICTION

1. John D. Doak is the Insurance Commissioner of the State of Oklahoma (“the
Insurance Commissioner”) and is charged with the duty of administering and enforcing all
provisions of the Oklahoma Insurance Code, 36 O.S. §§ 101 et seq., including the Oklahoma
Producer Licensing Act, 36 O.S. §§ 1435.1 et seq.

2. Leontez Kyle Arbertha (“Mr. Arbertha” or “Respondent™) is an applicant for an
Oklahoma resident insurance producer license. His mailing address of record is 3735 West Main
Street, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73072.

E'NDINGS OF FACT

1. On or about January 28, 2016, Respondent applied for a resident insurance
producer license with the Oklahoma Insurance Department (“the Department”).
2. Question 1(A) in the Oklahoma producer license application form asks in

pertinent part: “Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor had a judgment withheld or



deferred, or are you currently charged with a misdemeanor?” Respondent answered this question
“NO.” Mr. Arbertha admitted he intentionally furnished an untrue answer. By way of
explanation and excuse, he stated he failed to answer the question “YES” because the
misdemeanor was stale and it did not come up on a recent employer’s background check.

3. If Question 1(A) is answered “YES,” the Applicant must provide a written
statement explaining the circumstances of the incident(s); a copy of the charging document; and
a copy of the official document demonstrating resolution of the charges or any final judgment.

4. Respondent complied and provided information to the Department about his
conviction for misdemeanor embezzlement of $272.00 (shoplifting) in Cleveland County,
Oklahoma, District Court Case CM-10-3856. Respondent was eighteen years old when he
committed this misdemeanor, and the offense occurred six years ago.

5. The court records show Respondent pled guilty to this misdemeanor count, and
received twenty hours of mandatory community service to complete, was directed to make
restitution and ordered to pay various court fees and costs. The court documents show
Respondent completed all sentencing requirements and his misdemeanor case was disposed of as
a Deferred Guilty Plea on March 3, 2011.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The Insurance Commissioner may place on probation, censure, suspend, revoke
or refuse to issue or renew a license issued pursuant to the Oklahoma Producer Licensing Act
and/or may levy a fine up to $1,000 for each occurrence of a violation of the Oklahoma
Insurance Code. See 36 O.S. § 1435.13(A) and (D).

2. Respondent complied with the Oklahoma Insurance Code requirements by

eventually disclosing his misdemeanor conviction. This minor offense took place six years ago



when Respondent was a very young man and involved shoplifting merchandise of moderate
value. It appears Respondent he has lived an above-board life since committing a misdemeanor
of shoplifting at age eighteen.

3. Because Mr. Arbertha failed to reveal the matter initially through his Application,
the Insurance Commissioner believes the best course is to grant him only an Oklahoma resident

roducer license on a probationary basis as an intermediate course.
ORDER

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED by the Insurance
Commissioner that Respondent is granted a resident Oklahoma insurance producer license on a
probationary status for a period of one (1) year. At the time of Respondent’s first renewal of his
producer license, his probationary status must and shall be reviewed by the Insurance
Commissioner and the probationary status may be removed at that time. When his first
Oklahoma renewal is due, the Respondent should contact the Producer Licensing Division of the
Department.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED by the Insurance
Commissioner that this Order shall be reported as an administrative action.

If Respondent commits a violation of the Oklahoma Insurance Code, his license may

thereafter be REVOKED necessary and appropriate administrative action.



W... NESS My Hand and Official Seal this, gp r day of February, 2015.

JOHN D. DOAK
INSURANCE COMMISSIONER
STATE OF OKLAHOMA

Kelley C. Callahan

Senior Attorney

Legal Division/Prepaid Trust Matters
Oklahoma Insurance Department
3625 N.W. 56th Street, Suite 100
Oklahoma City, OK 73112

(405) 521.6616



ATDHTMITNTIAO AT M OTDY/TATm

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the above and foregoing Order of License
Proba i'(x was mailed via certified mail, with postage prepaid and return receipt requested, on
éé é

this day of February, 2016 to:
eontez Kyle Arbertha Certified Mail No.
3735 West Main Street 7015 3010 0001 4604 0808

Oklahoma City, OK 73072.

and that Notification was sent to:
NAIC IRS
and that a copy was delivered to:
Courtney Phipps

Licensing Division
Oklahoma Insurance Department

elley €&Callahan
Senior Attorney
Legal Division/Prepaid Trust Matters
Oklahoma Insurance Department
3625 N.W. 56th Street, Suite 100
Oklahoma City, OK 73112
(405)521.6616

.ok.gov






