BEFORE THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER OF THE
STATE OF OKLAHOMA FIL E D

STATE OF OKLAHOMA, ex rel. JOHN D.
DOAK, Insurance Commissioner,

Petitioner,
V.
Case No. 13- 0871-DIS
MICHAEL’S FUNERAL HOME

Respondent.

R A o g N S S e A N S e

Prepaid Funeral Benefits Permit §63294

NOTICE OF RIGHT TO HEARING WITH CONDITIONAL ORDER OF
DISCIPLINARY ACTION

The State of Oklahoma, ex rel., John D. Doak, Insurance Commissioner, alleges and

states as follows:

JURSDICTION AND AUTHORITY

1. John D. Doak is the Insurance Commissioner of the State of Oklahoma (“the
Insurance Commissioner”) and, as such, is charged with the duty of administering and
enforcing all provisions of the Oklahoma Insurance Code, 36 O.S. §§ 101 et seq., including
the Prepaid Funeral Benefits Act: 36 O.S. §§ 6121-6136.18.

2. The Respondent, Michael’s Funeral Home ("the Permit Holder") is a
permitted provider of Prepaid Funeral Benefit Contracts in the State of Oklahoma and holds
Permit Number 863294.

3. The Insurance Commissioner may censure a Permit Holder, suspend or revoke

a prepaid funeral benefits permit or impose a fine in the amount of from $100 to $1,000 -- or



impose a combination of such disciplinary actions -- if a permit holder violates any provision
of the Prepaid Funeral Benefits Act. See 36 O.S. § 6130 (B).

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. John D. Doak is the Insurance Commissioner of the State of Oklahoma and,
as such, is charged with the duty of administering and enforcing all provisions of the
Oklahoma Prepaid Funeral Benefits Act: 36 O.S. §§ 6121-6136.18.

2. Respondent is a permitted provider of Prepaid Funeral Benefit Contracts in
the state of Oklahoma pursuant to 36 O.S. § 6121 and 36 O.S. § 6124, holding Permit
Number 863294.

3. While reviewing the Annual Report filings due from Permit Holders in
calendar year 2013, the Oklahoma Insurance Department ("the Department™) noted that while
the Permit Holder submitted its Annual Report by the March 15, 2013 due date as required
by 36 O.S. § 6128, it never submitted the required Accountant’s Report on Applying Agreed-
Upon Procedures. This makes the Permit Holder’s Annual Report incomplete because an
integral part of the Report is missing.

4.  The regulatory process can be conducted efficiently only if Permit Holders
file complete Annual Reports and other regulatory filings in a timely manner.

5. By filing the Annual Report without the Agreed Upon Procedures, the Permit
Holder demonstrates a lack of understanding of the requirements and duties associated with
the privilege of operating under a prepaid funeral benefits Permit. The fully completed
Annual Report is among the most important documents Permit Holders file from a regulatory

standpoint. This violation also delays the Department’s staff from maintaining an orderly



schedule of review of Permit Holder Annual Reports and delays the detection of possible
regulatory problems.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The Permit Holder failed to comply with the procedures and processes for
filing Annual Reports, thus violating 36 O.S. § 6128. Such actions constitute a breach of the
Permit Holder’s obligations under the law.

2. The Insurance Commissioner may censure a Permit Holder, suspend or revoke
a Prepaid Funeral Permit or impose a fine in the amount of from $100 to $1,000 -- or impose
any combination of such disciplinary actions -- if a Permit Holder violates any provision of
the Prepaid Funeral Benefits Act. See 36 O.S. § 6130 (B).

CONDITIONAL ORDER

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that the Permit Holder pay a fine of $500.00 (Five
Hundred Dollars) unless the Permit Holder requests an administrative hearing as described
below.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Permit Holder may request a Hearing within
thirty (30) days of receipt of this Order and Notice to determine if any reasons exist that
should preclude assessment of the fine described herein. Any request for Hearing must be in
writing, addressed to Kelley C. Callahan, Senior Attorney, Oklahoma Insurance Department,
Five Corporate Plaza, 3625 N.W. 56”’, Suite 100, Oklahoma City, OK 73112, and give an

explanation of P-spondent’s actions alleged herei~ ~=4 any defenses thorotg, If

Respondent does not request a hearing within the 30 days allotted, this Order shall
become a FINAL ORDER on the 31* day following the receipt of the Order, and the

fine ordered herein shall be due and payable. Any such hearing shall be conducted



according to the procedures for contested individual cases under the Oklahoma Insurance
Code and the Administrative Procedures Act, 75 O.S. §§ 250-327. The allegations contained
herein shall be the subject matter for the Hearing, and such allegations may be amended as
additional information is discovered. The Insurance Commissioner or his appointed Hearing
Examiner reserves the right to impose additional or different administrative discipline at a
Hearing, if warranted.

A

WITNESS My Hand and Official Seal this Z g day of September, 2013.

/;///

PAUL WILKENING
Chief Deputy Insurance Commissigher
Oklahoma Insurance Department




QDTIDIF ATE (\17 RAATY 'N_G

I, Kelley C. Callahan, hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the attached
Notice of Right to Hearing with Conditional Ogder of Disciplinary Action was mailed
certified mail, return receipt requested on th —day of September, 2013 to:

Michael Davis, FDIC Certified Mail No.
Michael’s Funeral Home 7001 0320 0003 9967 5369
P.O. Box 924

Bristow, OK 74010

Oklahoma Funeral Board Certified Mail No.
ATTN: Chris Ferguson, Deputy Director 7001 0320 0003 9967 5376

4545 North Lincoln, Suite 175

Oklahoma City, OK 73105
KELEYT. CALLAHAN
Senior Attorney










