

OKLAHOMA INSURANCE DEPARTMENT COMMISSIONER JOHN D. DOAK

SPECIAL NOTICE

TO: Discount Medical Plan Organizations

FROM: Insurance Department, Financial Division

SUBJECT: Oklahoma Insurance Department Regulation of Discount Medical Plan Organizations

Effective November 1, 2016, Discount Medical Plan Organizations ("DMPOs") will file all annual registration renewals pursuant to Order No. 16-638-PRJ.

<u>Title 36 O.S. Section 350:</u> "Notwithstanding any other provision of law that requires a particular form and associated payment to be filed with the Insurance Department in paper form, or to be mailed or hand-delivered to the Insurance Department, the Insurance Commissioner may, by appropriate order, require that all filings of that specific type be filed or delivered in an electronic format."

<u>Title 36 O.S. Section 1219(B)(5) DMPO Registration:</u> "Before [registration] expires, a registrant may renew the registration for an additional on year term if the registrant ...files with the Department a renewal application on the form that the Insurance Commissioner requires and pays a renewal fee of Two Hundred Fifty Dollars (\$250.00)."

<u>Title 36 O.S. Section 1219(B)(10)(c) Affiliate Registration:</u> "A registration shall expire one (1) year after the date of registration, and each year on that date thereafter. A registrant may renew the registration if the registrant pays an annual registration fee of One Hundred Dollars (\$100.00) and remains in good standing with the Insurance Department."

All DMPOs filing and payment instructions can be found on the OID website. Please visit: www.ok.gov/oid. From the OID Home Page, place cursor over "Regulated Entities" found on the blue title bar, then click "Financial" from the drop down menu. Click the green circle "Financial Forms", go down to Discount Medical Plan Organizations.

Register and/or login with OPTins at <u>www.optins.org</u> or by calling 816-783-8990. Note: <u>Do not wait to register with OPTins</u>, as the process can take several weeks to complete.

If you have questions or concerns regarding the special notice, please contact Jeanette Pearce at the Oklahoma Insurance Department's Financial Division, at (405) 521-6651 or jeanette.pearce@oid.ok.gov. To view Order No. 16-638-PRJ you can go to www.oid.ok.gov, click on Public Information, Legal, Final Orders, 2016, Scroll down to 16-638-PRJ.